“No backsliding allowed”

“No backsliding allowed”

By Roger Fontaine June07

 

As I look back over the fateful years

 

To the time of a life-giving choice

 

It chokes me up but I release the tears

 

And from my soul I find my voice;

 

Chorus:

 I know that love’s the key and I feel it’s healing grace

 

I changed my past into a life that I could wear with pride,

 

Gently with courageous strokes I painted a truer face

 

And I know it’s here to stay, no backsliding allowed (bis)

 

Verse:

At first it was impossible but with courage it appeared

 

Quickly life began to grow and took away my fears

 

At first I couldn’t take a step without somebody’s help

 

But as I built self-love I learned to trust the voice within;

(Chorus)

 

I stand to fight the enemy for old habits never die

 

The man which once dragged me down has since been laid to rest

 

The ways of old were given me and I chose to set them free

 

Not on my sons’ or daughters’ lives will violence succeed

(Chorus)